Results of 2017 Sydney Allard Media Awards Announced

The Sydney Allard Media Awards pay tribute to the influence of journalists, photographers and videographers in the promotion of Drag Racing, along with the role played by Sydney Allard in establishing the sport in Europe during the early 1960s. This year the awards are sponsored by Lucas Oil Products UK. Over the last 20 years Lucas Oil has spent countless hours on the race track and in the laboratory to develop a wide range of high performance motor oils and lubricants. From this, Lucas Oil now has a lubricant to cover all aspects of the motor industry, from motor racing to your every day vehicle.

Photo: Ian Messenger

Photo Journalism

The outright winner of the 2017 Sydney Allard Photo Journalism Award was Mike Collins for a dramatic launch shot of Finnish racer Timo Lehtimaki’s Top Fuel Dragster which was taken from the pit side grandstand at Santa Pod Raceway in 2011 and was published in in December 2016 and previously on Mike’s own Retro Ramblin’s…The Last Quarter Mile, web pages.

It was taken using his good friend, Wojtek’s Nikon D3000 with a 55-200mm telephoto lens and 3D-tracking (11 points). Mike has entitled it ‘NitroFire‘, and also added “without Wojtek’s Nikon there’d have been no image, so a big thank you to him”

Guild of Motoring Writers President and Pink Floyd drummer, Trustee of the National Motor Museum, Beaulieu, and
Co-Patron of the Allard Chrysler Action Group Nick Mason selected the top three and chose the winner. The independent judge from Octane Magazine, Associate Editor of Octane Magazine Glen Waddington then ratified Nick’s selection.

Second place went to 2015 winner Jeni Long of for her photo of Graham Smith’s Snow White ’57 Chevy burning out at Shakespeare County Raceway at the 2017 NSRA Nostalgia Nationals. Third place also went to Jeni Long for another burnout photo, this time of the 327 Chevy-propelled Outlaw Anglia of Merv Barnett and also at the 2017 NSRA Nostalgia Nationals held at Shakespeare County Raceway.


The second Media Award is for video, which is a new category this year. Nick Mason considered amateur and professional videos reflecting coverage of British Drag Racing and associated activities during the 12-months ending July 2017. Our winner is Barney Campbell of Box Lane Productions for his video entitled ‘Welcome to Santa Pod’ which is full of wonderfully innovative camera work using a hoverboard amongst other devices.

Photos: Mike Collins, Jeni Long, Barney Campbell & Andy Willsheer

Written Journalism

The winner of the 2017 Sydney Allard Written Journalism Award is someone very well respected in the motor industry. It is award-winning author and motoring journalist Ian Wagstaff. One-time Press and Promotions Manager for Silverstone Circuit and member of the Guild of Motoring Writers, Ian first attended Drag Racing events in the early 1960s. Ian wins the award for his race track profile on Santa Pod Raceway. The Chief Judge was Guy Loveridge, Deputy Chairman of the Guild of Motoring Writers. The piece was published in the May 2017 edition of PRI Magazine which has wide circulation in the US and internationally.

Ian’s piece summarises the history of Drag Racing in the UK and the importance of the variety of events taking place at Santa Pod Raceway – eighty in total per year. Interviews with Trakbak Chief Executive Keith Bartlett and Commercial Manager Caroline Holden show their passion for the culture of the sport in the UK and the importance of family involvement.

The Gala Awards Dinner 2017

The BDRHoF is taking reservations for the 2017 Gala Awards Dinner by email at or by telephone at 01933 279102. This year the tickets are priced competitively at £65.00 each and this includes a pre-dinner reception and table wine. The event always sells out well in advance, so if you would like to join us for the occasion we suggest you make your reservation sooner rather than later. On receiving your reservation you will be given the procedure to book rooms at the negotiated room rate that includes breakfast and VAT as well as parking.

On-going news about the Gala, sponsors and other events in which the BDRHoF is involved will be published on the British Drag Racing Hall of Fame website, and on Facebook and Twitter.

British Drag Racing Hall of Fame Limited is a company limited by guarantee and registered in England and Wales under no. 10387951 and whose registered office is at 39, Hatton Park Road, Wellingborough, Northants NN8 5AT.

The BDRHoF Benevolent Fund has been created as registered charity no. 1167197 and is run for racers or officials who through injury have fallen on hard times and may be invited to apply for grants.  Money raised will also go to the Air Ambulances local to UK drag racing tracks. All money raised by donation goes to charitable grants.