Three Sydney Allard Media Awards for 2017

The British Drag Racing Hall of Fame (BDRHoF) has announced details of the 2017 Sydney Allard Media Awards for Written and Photographic Journalism that will be presented for the fourth consecutive year at the British Drag Racing Hall of Fame Gala Awards Dinner, this year being held on Saturday 18th November at the Historic Oatlands Park Hotel, Weybridge, Surrey. And the good news is that 2017 sees a third award for Best Video.

Established in 2014 in memory of the founding father of British Drag Racing, the Sydney Allard Media Awards celebrate the best of the past year’s written, video and photographic drag racing journalism and salutes the vital contribution the media makes to the sport’s well-being and success. Entries are now invited from writers, photographers and those producing videos that are posted on You Tube, amateur or professional, to reflect coverage of British Drag Racing and associated activities during the 12-months ending July 2017. This means that anything taken or written since August 2016 is eligible so you can start sending entries in now.

Previous winners include Nick Brooke Langham, Jon Spoard and Julian Hunt. Andy Willsheer photo shows happy 2015 winners Rodger Attaway and Jeni Long. This year’s entries must be in by the end of August 2017. The winning entrant in each category will be invited, together with a companion, to attend the Hall of Fame Gala on November 18th and receive a crystal trophy in recognition of his or her achievement. The judging panel will include the Guild of Motoring Writers President, racer, motoring connoisseur and Pink Floyd drummer Nick Mason, and the Editor of Octane Magazine, David Lillywhite.

The Written Journalism Award will be presented to the author of the year’s best article, feature, book or blog, published or unpublished, in print or online in the designated time frame. The Photographic Journalism Award will be presented for the best picture and the Video Journalism Award will be presented for the best video – professional or amateur – covering the same period and with videos posted on You Tube.

Writers, video makers and photographers may make multiple entries but each entry must be accompanied by a separate entry form to enable the judges to collate them accurately. Full entry details are available on the British Drag Racing Hall of Fame website at Spool down and press the entry form button.

The BDRHoF is now taking reservations for the 2017 Gala Awards Dinner by email at or by telephone at 01933 279102. This year the tickets are priced competitively at £65.00 each and this includes a pre-dinner reception and table wine. The event always sells out well in advance, so if you would like to join us for the occasion we suggest you make your reservation sooner rather than later. On receiving your reservation you will be given the procedure to book rooms at the negotiated room rate that includes breakfast and VAT as well as parking.
On-going news about the Gala, sponsors and other events in which the BDRHoF is involved will be published on the British Drag Racing Hall of Fame website,, and on Facebook and Twitter.

British Drag Racing Hall of Fame Limited is a company limited by guarantee and registered in England and Wales under no. 10387951 and whose registered office is at 39, Hatton Park Road, Wellingborough, Northants NN8 5AT.

The BDRHoF Benevolent Fund has been created as registered charity no. 1167197 and is run for racers or officials who through injury have fallen on hard times and may be invited to apply for grants. Money raised will also go to the Air Ambulances local to UK drag racing tracks. All money raised by donation goes to charitable grants.